Soca Monarch logo

Caribbean Prestige Foundation has released the official list of semi-finalists for the Digicel International Soca Monarch and Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch competitions.

Did your favorite artiste make it? Check the lists below:

Digicel Power Soca Monarch Semi Finalists

1. Third Bass (Adrian Hackshaw)

2. Denise Belfon

3. Destra Garcia

4. Prophet Benjamin (Devon Samuel)

5. Blaxx (Dexter Stewart)

6. Erphaan Alves

7. Gary Cordner

8. JW & Blaze (Jason Williams & Ancil Isaac)

9. Zan (Joel Feveck)

10. Kerwin Du Bois

11. Coyaba (Lawrence Jack)

12. Swappi (Marvin Davis)

13. Megan Walrond

14. Michelle X & Kes (Head Bad on D Road)

15. Nadia Batson

16. Iwer George (Neil George)

17. Olatunji Yearwood

18. Patrice Roberts

19. Preston Andries

20. Problem Child & Tallpree

21. Shurwayne Winchester

22. Shal Marshall

23. Tony Prescott

24. Pelf (Victor St. Louis)

25. C’Donia (Wesley Hoyte)

26. Shadow (Winston Bailey)


Play Whe Groovy Soca Monarch Semi Finalists

1. All Rounder (Anthony Hendrickson)

2. Farmer Nappy (Darryl Henry)

3. Destra Garcia

4. Blaxx (Dexter Stewart)

5. Skhi (Dwayne Arthur)

6. Erphaan Alves

7. Skinny Fabulous (Gamal Doyle)

8. Jadel (Jardine Legere)

9. JW & Blaze (Jason Williams & Ancil Isaac)

10. K Rich (Kenneth Richards)

11. Kerwin Du Bois

12. Ziggy Ranking (Khori Francis)

13. Kimba Sorzano

14. KI (Kris Persad)

15. Mr Renzo (Laurence Gonzalez Adams)

16. Lima Calbio

17. Machel Montano

18. Nadia Batson

19. Patrice Roberts

20. Chucky (Roderick Gordon)

21. Benjai (Rodney Le Blanc)

22. Lil Bitts (Shivonne Churche)

23. Shurwayne Winchester

24. Shal Marshall

25. Terri Lyons

26. Super Jigga TC (Terin Callendar)

27. Explainer (Winston Henry)

Though not listed, as defending champions of the Groovy and Soca Monarch titles respectively, Kees and Machel Montano will both be competing at Super Red 20 this year in defense of their titles from the last competition.

The International Soca Monarch and Groovy Soca Monarch semi-finals will take place on Sunday 29 January 2012 at the Arima Velodrome in Trinidad.

BTW: I found it kinda strange that on the International Soca Monarch Facebook page, under their LIKEs, there was only ONE Soca artiste listed…

Is an independent competitive organization suppose to “endorse” a lone artiste?

I just thought this was blatantly “strange.” *rolls eyes*

 Who do you think will win the Power & Groovy Soca titles? Leave a comment.