machel 2013 soca monarch title crown winner

The fog and powder has settled and the teacher and student reigns!

Super hugs Machel after 2013 soca monarch

Machel Montano accomplished a hat trick performance when he retained the Power Soca and for the second consecutive year, the Groovy and Power Soca Monarch titles.

However, the soca star will have to share the spotlight with the legendary SuperBlue.

In a predictable move, Montano and crowd favorite Austin “SuperBlue” Lyons, were announced as the joint winners for the 2013 Play Whe International Power Soca Monarch in the wee hours of this morning at the Hasley Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain.

This is the third tie in the history of the competition, most recently in 2002 with Bunji Garlin and Iwer George and back in 1997 with Ronnie McIntosh and the resurrected SuperBlue.

Fantastic Friday began with the Groovy competition with Machel Montano resulting as winner while crowd favorite Blaxx came in third behind Iwer George whose musical guest Prophet Benjamin gave him the edge.

machel montano 2013 soc monarch

Here are the official 2013 Soca Monarch results:

Play Whe International Power Soca Monarch
1. Austin “SuperBlue” Lyons
1. Machel Montano
3. Rodney “Benjai” Le Blanc
4. Destra

Digicel International Groovy Soca Monarch
1. Machel Montano
2. Neil “Iwer” Goerge
3. Dexter “Blaxx” Stewart.Roman Garcia
4. – Ravi B

Congrats to the winners.

We await to see what will play out next year…